PDA

View Full Version : UTPure and Excessive Overkill mod

DarkWench
20th February, 2002, 05:07 PM
I work for a gaming ladder and Admin the Excessive overkill sections.

We (the EO players) seem to have a problem with EO when UTPure is loaded onto the servers. Most of the time the players can not even join.

I am thinking it is the enhanced weapons of the Mod that is doing this, but I am no programmer.

We have only gone up to UTPureRC4d. Would the newer version take care of this problem?

Any ideas, please let me know.

~DW~

DarkByte
20th February, 2002, 06:40 PM
Its simply that Excessive Overkill is subclassing player models (I assume). This makes it not compatible with UTPure.

We might eventually create a plug-in system where mods like EO will be able to work with Pure given that they patch their code.

DarkWench
20th February, 2002, 06:48 PM
Thanks for replying.

Unfotunately, I don't think the maker is doing anything about this mod, as in updates. I have heard rumors that he is, but I can't confirm it.

He originally made EO for Quake, and made this version for UT. He said he was not going to update it because he disliked UT.

Others of the EO crowd have been working on updates, but the Ladder I work for will not use it unless it is an 'official' release from the original maker.

Is it possible that the newer versions of UTPure would work in RC4d's place?

~DW~

TNSe
21st February, 2002, 01:03 AM
it works with UTPureRC4d?

what is "wrong" with 5b/5b2?

DarkWench
21st February, 2002, 06:00 AM
It does not work with RC4d.

Far as I know there is nothing wrong with the other versions, it is just something that has not been set up on the ladder I work for..yet.

The requirements for servers is not up to me, I just help maintain a few ladders.

Doing this helps gets information for the ones that do set the requirements, thus upgrading the fun of playing on hack free servers in the future.

StoneRain
21st February, 2002, 09:43 AM